The Great Trip: Rare and Unheard Music from Don Cherry

Don Cherry and Åge Delbanco (Babaji) (right) with an unidentified musician
Sunday, March 7th, 2021
9:00 AM EST | 2:00 PM GMT | 3:00 PM CET
Hosted online via livestream

In anticipation of the “Organic Music Societies” exhibition, Blank Forms will be presenting a daylong radio show dedicated to Don and Moki Cherry’s life in Sweden and beyond on Sunday, March 7th starting at 9 a.m. EST. Key recordings from the early ’60s through late ’80s, including rare and private music, will be diffused by hosts Lawrence Kumpf and Adrian Rew, as well as international guests Mats Gustafsson and Magnus Nygren. The show will additionally include live interviews with Neneh Cherry, Naima Karlsson, Famoudou Don Moye, and Bengt “Beche” Berger, as well as a performance by Christer Bothén. The program will be livestreamed exclusively, with no archive to follow, so tuning in is the only way to hear this material. 

9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. EST: Festival de jazz de Chateauvallon and Organic Music Theatre comes to New York

10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. EST: Bitter Funeral Beer and beyond, more Organic Music, Paul Adolphus, riots in Italy and the Everyman Band with Bengt “Beche” Berger

12:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m EST: Moki Cherry, Chenrezig, and Elefantasi with Neneh Cherry and Naima Karlsson

1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. EST: Frippe, Free Jazz, Sidsel Paaske, and Summer House Sessions with Magnus Nygren and Mats Gustafsson

3:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. EST: Christer Bothén live!

3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. EST: Jim Pepper, Lou Reed, and disco tracks with Adrian Rew featuring an interview Famoudou Don Moye

Photo: Don Cherry and Åge Delbanco (Babaji) (right) with an unidentified musician